Discovering the Play

I’m not sure if it is because of my lack of knowledge concerning football, but I found reading the scoring summaries and all that information rather difficult. For instance I was trying to identify a play by the time stamp given in the properties metadata of the photograph. The time given was 9:55pm. So I began searching the summary for a 9:55 time stamp. However, the information I found conflicted with the name and player number of one of the players making an action in the photograph. It took me a while to realize while the information in the photo was a given time, 9:55pm, the times listed in the scoring summary were relative to how many minutes a play occurred into a given period or quarter. After this realization I decided to go with the more concrete information of the player name and number to try and identify the actions in the photo.

One thought on “Discovering the Play

  1. I had the same problem. I ended up using YouTube videos to help me figure out what was happening in my images. I think I ended up watching a fairly significant portion of the Alabama vs. Texas BCS game.

Leave a comment